General Contact

Information - Administrator

Jill Cameron - Administrator

Executive & Directors: 2020-2021

Dale Peters

Jim Gilholme

VP Hockey Operations

Juanita Renwick

VP Hockey Operations

Leah Belsher


Aaron Mills


Dave Freeborn

Past President

Tammy Anderson

Dan Danis

Liz Desjardins

Lee Emond

Diana Hartford

Mark Josefchak

John Mitchell

Lee Morris

Dennis Mulholland

Laurie Quinn

Kevin Stirling

Denise Whiteley

Kris Zack

Head Coaches and Mentors 2020/2021

U21 B Gold:  Coach- Derek Bell

U21 B Blue: Coach - Darcy McGuire

U18 AAA: Coach - Chad Scharff /  Mentor - Mark Maloney

U18 AA Gold:  Coach - Jamie Fox /  Mentor - Mike Chomack

U18 AA Blue:  Coach - Wayne Potter /  Mentor - Marian Gmitter

U16 AAA Gold:  Coach - Jon Petrash / Mentor - Chris Leinweber

U16 AAA Blue:  Coach - Jason Carruthers / Mentor - Randy Cave

U16 AA: Coach - Erik Tuff / Mentor - Paul Bradley

U15 AAA:  Coach - Brad Hodge / Mentor - Mark Maloney

U15 AA Gold:  Coach - Ty Cooper /  Mentor - Mark Maloney

U15 AA Blue:  Coach - Nick Purves /   Mentor - David Addison

U15 AA White:  Coach - Brett Krokosh / Mentor - Jeff Ovens

CRAA and History of the SWAA - Incorporated 1969

Prior to 1966, the Calgary Buffalo Hockey Association exclusively sponsored “AA” hockey in Calgary. In the mid 1960’s a group of energetic hockey men in South West Calgary created the formation of a separate association to promote “AA” hockey in the South West area. The leaders of this group were Joe Krycka, Bill Blyth, Ted Steele and Stan Jaycock. These gentlemen were instrumental in forming the South West Athletic Association (SWAA), which operated as an unincorporated association from 1966 to 1969. During this period the Association sponsored one team in each of the Bantam, Midget, Juvenile and Junior B categories.

The Association was subsequently incorporated under the Societies Act of the Province of Alberta in 1969. The activities of the Association have expanded with the growth of the city and it now sponsors three Bantam “AA”, one Bantam “AAA”, two Minor Midget “AAA”, two Midget “AA”, a Major Midget “AAA”, and two Junior “B” teams.

The success of the Association over the years has been largely due to the outstanding leadership provided by its’ Presidents, including: Wilf Godfrey, George Dunn, Don Quinn, Bill Shearer, Laurie Schmidt, Bob Arkley, the Honorable Mr. Justice Bill O’Leary; Ron Onishenko; Don McCallum; Ken Morris; Bob Venables; Ken Morris (returned – 7 years total); Ray Ference; Bruce Bierwagon; Bob Wilson (now serving as a director for 14 years); Clive Marsh (now ombudsman with 17 years service); Attila Szabo; Kris Katsaounis (now past-president with 9 years service); Dave Freeborn is the current President of the Association. The dedication and hard work of these men and women has contributed to the success of the Association and also to the advancement of “AA” hockey in Calgary. There have been many Directors whose tireless efforts have contributed a great deal to “AA” hockey, including the late Emile Dupont and Rusty Basarab, Gordie Moore, Ron Johnson, Martin Vernon, Clint Reynolds, Doug Cook, Bob Sinclair, Bill Salt, Derek Gould, Ken Hindmarch, Scotty Jones, Dan Mulvenna, Jim Morris and Brent Siddons. The C.R.A.A. (aka CRAA) formerly known as SWAA has been fortunate in attracting volunteers, coaches, and managers of the highest caliber.

CRAA has been proactive over the years in developing a comprehensive scholarship program that was commenced in 1976 and continues today, offering 9 scholarships and $10,000 per season to deserving CRAA players. Rick Luhning pioneered the scholarship program, mentoring Clive Marsh, who took a very active role in the Scholarship program from 1991 and has always championed the program; under the coordination of Bill LeClair who took over in 2001 and Mandy Latiff, the program has evolved to what it is today. These volunteers and their dedication has positively reflected in the program and led to continued growth and the recognition of our players.

The Association has been active in supporting progressive change in “AA” hockey and was instrumental in the formation of the “AA” hockey council, now know as the Elite Council. “AA” hockey is the delegate of the Minor Hockey Association of Calgary; it has actively supported the concept of tiering hockey players by age so that players compete with others, approximately the same level of physical and mental development. The Association also took an active part in the formation of the Southern Alberta Major Midget Hockey League and the Alberta Major Midget Hockey League as well as the concept of forming a Major Midget team in each quadrant to participate in those Leagues. The Association has instituted a club concept whereby all team colors and insignia are standardized, resulting in better identification as well as savings in the cost of uniforms and jackets.

The aim of the Association has been and will continue to be the overall welfare and development of the players in its hockey system. We are proud of the many fine young players who have participated in our association over the years and we would like to think that they have received some benefit from their connection with us.

The Association appreciates the contributions made and the dedication over the years by its team sponsors, directors, coaches, managers, parents, and players.

Recent News

Contact Info

Calgary Royals

PO Box 36052 Lakeview Post Office
Calgary, Alberta
T3E 7C6